NJ DWI - NJ DUI

Thomas Carroll Blauvelt, LLC provide experienced and skilled representation to New Jersey drivers charged with drunk driving or other traffic violations. In New Jersey, first-time offenders can face severe penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). These penalties include monetary fines, jail time, suspension of driver's license, and mandatory participation in alcohol prevention programs.

New Jersey DUI attorney Thomas Carroll Blauvelt has successfully defended persons charged with all types drunk driving offenses. He can represent your interests throughout the process. If you would like to contest your traffic ticket, call us at (877) 676-7729 or complete our contact form to arrange for a free DUI consultation to discuss your legal options.

More Information:

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI) Penalties
DUI in school zone or school crossing
Refusing the chemical test
Refusing the chemical test in school zone or crossing
Underage Penalities of DUI
Interlock Device Requirements
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI) Penalties

1st Offense

  1. 3 months, or 7 months - 1 year driving privilege suspension
  2. $250-$400 fine
  3. 12-48 hours at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center at a charge of $75 a day
  4. maximum 30 days imprisonment
  5. an automobile surchage of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  6. $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving fund
  7. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  8. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  9. $75 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund

Second Offense

  1. 2 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $500-$1000 fine
  3. 30 days community service
  4. 12-48 hours at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  5. 48-90 days imprisonment
  6. an automobile surchage of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  7. $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving fund
  8. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  9. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  10. $75 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund

Third Offense

  1. 10 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $1,000 fine
  3. 90 maximum community service
  4. 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  5. 180 days imprisonment
  6. an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for 3 years
  7. $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving fund
  8. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  9. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  10. $75 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund

DUI in school zone or school crossing

1st Offense

  1. 12-24 month driving privilege suspension
  2. $500-$800 fine
  3. 12-48 hours at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center at a charge of $75 a day
  4. 60 days imprisonment
  5. an automobile surchage of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  6. $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving fund
  7. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  8. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  9. $75 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund

Second Offense

  1. minimum 4 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $1000-$2000 fine
  3. 60 days community service
  4. 12-48 hours at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  5. 96 hours-180 days imprisonment
  6. an automobile surchage of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  7. $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving fund
  8. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  9. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  10. $75 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund

Third Offense

  1. 20 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $2,000 fine
  3. 90 maximum community service
  4. 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  5. 180 days imprisonment
  6. an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for 3 years
  7. $100 surcharge to be deposited in a drunk driving fund
  8. $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  9. $75 Safe Neighborhood Services Fund
  10. $75 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund

Refusing the chemical test

1st Offense

  1. 7 months driving privilege suspension
  2. $250-$500 fine
  3. 12-minimum Intoxicated Driver Resource Center at a charge of $75 a day

Second Offense

  1. 2 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $250-$500 fine
  3. 12 hours minimum at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Third Offense

  1. 10 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $250-$500 fine
  3. 12 hours minimum at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Refusing the chemical test in school zone or crossing

1st Offense

  1. 1 year driving privilege suspension
  2. $500-$1000 fine
  3. 12-minimum Intoxicated Driver Resource Center at a charge of $75 a day

Second Offense

  1. 4 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $500-$1,000 fine
  3. 12 hours minimum at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Third Offense

  1. 20 years driving privilege suspension
  2. $500-$1000 fine
  3. 12 hours minimum at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Underage Penalities of DUI

Minimum:

  1. 30-90 day driving privilege suspension if currently licensed; or
  2. 30-90 day prohibition from becoming a licensed driver at 17 years: and
  3. 15-30 days mandatory community service: and
  4. participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or other alcohol education and highway safety program

OR

  1. a combination of the minimum sentences above and DUI sentences

Maximum:

  1. DUI sentences . If the blood alchohol concentration is 0.08% or higher, underage persons will receive DUI sentences as noted.

Interlock Device Requirements

The courts may require first and repeat DUI offenders to use ignition interlock devices. To start the vehicle, the driver must blow into the device. The vehicle wil not start if the driver's blood alcohol content exceeds 0.05 percent.

First Offense

6 months - 1 year installation of interlock device after restoration of driving privilege.

Second Offense

1-3 year installation of interlock device after restoration of driving privilege or two years suspension of registration privileges.

Third Offense

1-3 years installation of interlock device after restoration of driving privilege or 10 years suspension of registration privileges.


Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Any person convicted of an alcohol related traffic offense after October 5, 1984 must be detained at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). New Jersey has a resource center in each county for first and third offenders and three regional centers for second offenders. During detention all offenders attend an alcohol and highway safety education program. The center evaluates each offender for an alcohol or drug problem and determines the need for treatment. If it is needed, the center refers the offender to an appropriate provider for a 16-week minimum treatment. The offender may also supplement the treatment with attendance at a self-help group, with both extending to a maximum of one year for IDRC purposes. The IDRCs monitor compliance and report noncompliance to the courts and to MVS.

IDRC fees and other related charges are:

$100 attendance fee
$150 first offender fee
$200 second offender fee
$100 license restoration fee

Middlesex County IDRC

Middlesex County IDRC
PO Box 30
New Brunswick, NJ 08903
Phone: 732-745-4500
Fax: 732-745-4591